Artists and Advocacy Groups Join Forces to Transform Politics - HYPERALLERIC

This year 13 artists created installations, such as the large one by Jesus Benavente, titled “I Still Remember You Mijo” (2018), consisting of large, red vinyl lettering spelling out the title of the piece, along with about 600 air-filled white balloons that slowly deflate. It evokes Benavente’s distress as a Mexican-American who has witnessed the malevolence toward immigrant communities leveled by the current federal administration, such as the separation of families at the border. Furen Dai’s “Silverwords” (2018) also consisted of balloons with black vinyl lettering spelling out phrases like “against the tide,” and “fearless,” while some words appeared to be written in Chinese characters. The overlap of their work speaks to New York’s art community, which largely consists of immigrants and has international connections; the precarity of the immigrants’ lives is poignantly evoked by the ephemeral balloon.

Read more.

Art OMI light into Night

FONLAD - International Video Art and Performance Festival

FONLAD - International Video Art and Performance Festival is an event oproduced by Videolab Project. It is intended to promote the art productions of several artists who approach the new technologies in contemporary art.
The Festival is open to all national and international artists working on digital art, video and performance.
The Festival will take place in several places in Coimbra, presenting performance, video art and installations in unconventional places between in July 2017.

A special selection of 2017 edition will be presented @ Museu da Água /Water Museum) in Coimbra from 2 to 11 June 2017. Artists selected: Andrea Novoa (Cl), Anna Baranska (Pl), Con.Tatto (It), Dan Robert Lahiani (Isr), Daniel Seraphim (Br), Eija Temisevä (Fin), Filomena Rusciano (It), Francesca Bonci (It), Francesca Fini (It), Francesca Leoni (It), Frank McCauley (USA), Furen Dai (Chn), Gabriel Desplanque (Fr), Guilherme Bergamini (Br), Isabel Perez del Pulgar (Es), Kappala Sivakumar (In), Kristina Paustian (Ger), Luis Lopes (Pt), M Daniela Torres (Mx), Marcantonio Lunardi (It), Pancrazio De Padova (IT), Tales Frey (Pt/Br), Thomas Hjørnet (Dk), Yao Cong (UK)

The final selection will be presented on the oficial show between July 14 to 22.